Marks


Today we got our school report cards and lets just say, my parents weren’t the happiest, especially because Asian parents can be pretty hard to please.

Right now, school is so fricking hard. I’m in this program where I have to do grade 9 math and science (I’m in grade 8) and it is complete torture, not to mention the fact that my teachers make it harder than it’s supposed to be. (I know this for a fact, my teachers told me and I also checked the textbook, which was much easier.) But that’s not the worst part. Because I’m doing grade 9, it actually counts towards high school, especially this term. And if you have parents like mine, you know that everything you work towards is about the future. You have to do good in elementary to get into a good junior high school, which will get you into a good high school, then university, and then a good job.

But what I can’t stand the most is my English and Social teacher (Humanities). Her marking is the worst, if you don’t get the exact word she wants in an answer, it’s already wrong. If we’re doing a creative project that includes original artwork, she’ll question you until you die, asking how you knew how to draw something without any internet help. She’ll even question crappy buildings, which makes even less sense because she’s also a pretty good art teacher. She even asked me how I knew some vocabulary words. Seriously? I added those words to impress her. She asked me how I knew the word “Renaissance”, which makes no sense because we’re learning about it right now. And besides, if you don’t know that word in grade 8, I don’t know what to say to you.

But aside from my little rant, here’s something to cheer you up. If you feel like you are failing at life, well, this person might just be failing a bit more:

-Grace

Published by

Kitty

professional cat

2 thoughts on “Marks”

Leave a Comment

