My Neighbor Totoro


If you are like me, you love Studio Ghibli films. It’s basically anime without the unhealthy addiction part. So because I am totally not addicted to Studio Ghibli, I decided to rewatch My Neighbor Totoro.

The movie is about the sisters, Satsuki (older) and Mei (four years old), who meet Totoro. Their mom is sick and in a hospital. She was supposed to visit the family on Saturday, but because she had a cold, the doctor couldn’t allow it. This causes Mei to walk all the way to the hospital to bring her fresh corn, because she believed that it would help get her better. But the hospital is far away, and Mei gets lost. Then Totoro comes to the rescue! The end.

That was a really crappy summary, but if you never watched it before, then I suggest you do. And if you don’t want to, then I guess you can search up the summary on wikipedia. 😐

Sigh. This movie brings back so many memories. I remember when I was little, I thought Totoro was pronounced To-tor-o, with the emphasis on the second syllable. Turns out, it was pronounced To-to-ro, with the emphasis on the first syllable. Those days as a kid, though.

After I watched the movie for the first time, I was obsessed with Totoro. He was just so cute and fluffy! Well, as cute as you can get when you are 30 feet tall. Sadly, Canada doesn’t sell that many life-size Totoro stuffies, so I had to bear with my Totoro travel pillow that I got from China. (The bigger stuffed version wouldn’t fit in my suitcase – especially with the two stuffed bears that me and my sister got as a gift. They were about as tall as me. I didn’t want to risk it and waste my precious Chinese money.)

That was a while ago, although I still have my two bears and the travel pillow. As well as a sheep, a bear wearing a shirt with my sister’s birthday on it (we named it Kiana bear, after my sister), a Rilakkuma travel pillow, and another Rilakkuma bear dressed in a chicken costume (that one has a backstory, which I might tell later). I guess you can say that I have a thing for all things cute and fluffy.

Anyways, I really love this movie. Actually, I think I like the characters better than the movie. Totoro for the win!

-Grace

Published by

Kitty

professional cat

26 thoughts on “My Neighbor Totoro”

      1. lolol it was supposed to be like 😛 except the otter way around
        (i swear that was unintentional… it was a typo and then i thought why don’t i just keep it and make it a really bad (and not to mention random) pun)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

